Da Party

The Warrior knows that no man is an island.
He cannot fight alone:whatever his plan, he depends on other people.He needs to discuss his strategy, to ask for help, and -moments of relaxation-to have someone with whom he can sit by the fire, someone he can regale with tales of battle.
But he does not allow people to confuse this camaraderie with insecurity. He is transparent in his actions and secretive in his plans.
A warrior of light dances with his companions, but does not place the responsibility for his actions on anyone else.

Paulo Coelho ( Manual of the Warrior of Light)

(Hey, hope this Paulo Coelho doesn’t look as though I philosophize everything in life like my name! 🙂 I just love these lines so putting it here hai. Now with that word of clarification let me just hit the bull’s eye.)

“Its so simple to be difficult but so difficult to be simple.” I heard these lines first from Vijay Kumar in one of his Dishanirdesh episodes. Liked the saying, so has stuck to my brain cells for a really long time. But is was only yesterday I attained that “BrahmaGyan”! 🙂 ( Surprised by the choice of word? Don’t be. There’s so much more to The Real Me other than Howde Keti Ka Kura) :wink:..So one needs to go through something to internalize anything don’t they? Make an attempt to guess my experience. Feeling somewhat funny, weird, shy and whatever writing this but I dare myself to say it all…Hahaha I broke my own boundaries! Didn’t undergo a total transformation as to being totally Unrecognizable but the black thing Nils put around my eyes and the matching earrings ( felt so heavy man) were enough.Does that make me a chor? I wonder. Nevertheless still retained the punk touch with my favorite sneakers with a lot of shoe literature like: “Alive and Kickin”, “Daz RoX”, “Get a Life Man” and “Let me be Me” scribbled on it.

The learning was indeed ,its soooooooo damn easy to be just another face in the crowd, going with the flow, being lost in the colors of eyeshadows and keeping the party tradition alive but try making an attempt at being The One in the crowd and the world of difference unfolds. I don’t say social gatherings provide so much of mental stimulation for nothing! Anyone can look hot or sexy given the reservation that they make an attempt, its a matter of choice. To stay the way you are, plain and pathetic( for fashionistas 🙂 ) is a matter of guts. And if black lines around the eyes can make me realize such wonderful things maybe should plan of being a total Whacko next time. I might just attain Buddhahood! 🙂

I told her about it the moment the thought struck me. And she had something better to say:” Whatever the case, we are the students of an Integrated subject, and this crowd just represents that. We might feel out of place or anything else but there is no other place we would be feeling better too, just us.”

Then the show Kickstarted with a Bang!! It was well coordinated and the sing and dance sequences were great with some exceptions. Missed Kali’s dance, but Jaz rocked the stage with the “Tamang Selo” and Anupama just set the stage on fire. Hers was a solo performance a medley of Eng and Hindi numbers which had all eyes glued to her flexible body. Now, that you don’t know her, here’s a hint :she is Shakira and Beyonce combination. The Girl Can Surely Dance, no wonder the continuos “Once More” from the crowd. Simply Awesome! Just Mindblowing!

Talking of the so-so part was a disastrous performance by a junior of “One” by U2. But being a spectator is way lot easy that being out on the stage. So I still admire his guts. 🙂 The “Like a Stone” by Audioslave performance was okie-dokie. The performers interested me more than the performance! hahaha. Well, it was by the freshers of BDevs and BDFins so a chance to see them too! One guitarist wore an earring had “halka dadi” too :wink:, the other wore a t-shirt with the “Swastika” sign on it while the drummer ( who already seems to be popular among the girls) had his eyebrows pierced. But what fate man, they’re our juniors. Guess, its exploitation to be making passes at little brothers! LOL But looks matter less once you speak out and reveal that Unkool side of yours. That’s what exactly happened in case of the drummer. He was one of the contestants in “Mr Fresher” program as nominated by his friends. Actually if I were the judge would’ve given a big zero to all the guys.

When asked “Why do you think your friends nominated you as a contestant?” A long haired guy answered ” It was a mistake.” What an answer!
The other had a short “No” for an answer to the question “Do you think cell phones should be allowed in the class?” Oh give me a break!
The other spent more time thinking with his “Hmmm…..” than answering. As for the drummer guy though he won the Mr Fresher title I don’t remember his answer other than complementing the Devs Society President for looking so pretty. It was just as terrible as the rest. But at least he played drums well.

The Miss Fresher had gave an interesting answer to the overheard question ” What would you do if you won a million dollars?” “I would donate half a million dollars to the college so that they would have better infrastructures, a larger canteen and then I would be able to perform on a stage within the college itself. With the rest I would freak out.” It had us cheering and clapping. The administration budas sure got a “Jhatka”. I think someone from the back yelled it to the teachers too! And with the stage performance over, it was time for the most awaited part “Da Dance”.

Most of the numbers played were Hindi ones, they even had the dance version of a slow number like “Jiya Dhadak” from “Kalyug” which really surprised me but less compared to his action, taking my hand for a duet! LOL He later told me it was the first time he’d ever danced in public so the uncoordinated moves can be considered. But don’t be fooled he was dancing with every girl in sight. It was loads of fun especially dancing in “Tal ko pani” by Nepathya with another guy :).

So, after dancing continuosly in the fast numbers I slipped away to take a break. He was back beside me asking “What’s wrong?”
“Feeling damn hot, man.” I answered.
Which brought the Line of the Night for an answer:” Tyo kina bhako bhane , bhitra ra bahira duwai ko aago ekachoti baliracha!” ( that’s because the internal and external fire have both been lighted.” Give it all to him for coming up with such dialogues.

He called me later and had very interesting insights about the party. One of which was the disco lights that provide psychological stimulation resulting in the male and female dance!! Anyways we have more females in college than males, so they are a scarce resource :). But talking of the dance, the freshers seem to have had a great time dancing with us ( the experienced 3rd yr gals) hahaha. Well, I would keep ending up in front of this new guy , intially felt funny but after ending up together innumerous time grew used to him LOL. The best part was dancing( not with the fresher though) in “Kya mujhe Pyar he” from the yet to be released movie “Woh Lamhe” …….I simply LooooooVe the song: the video ,the lyrics, Shiney Ahuja, everything about it. Let me type the starting lines:
“Kyun aja kal nid kam khwaab jyaada hai,
Lagta khuda ka koi nek irada hai,
Kal tha fakir, aja Dil Sehejada hai,
Kya mujhe pyar hai, kesa khumar he ya…..” WOW!

The program came to an end at 8( began at 1pm) with the final dance in “Koi Kahe” from Dil Chahata Hai. A youth anthem I would say. A Rocking Night For sure! Something we will talk about for quite sometime in college 🙂

For the warrior there is no such thing as an impossible love.
He is not intimidated by silence, indifference or rejection. He knows that, behind the mask of ice that people wear, there beats a heart of fire.
This is why the warrior takes more risks than other people. He is constantly seeking the love of someone, even if that means often having to hear the word ‘no’, returning home defeated and feeling rejected in body and soul.
A warrior never gives in to fear when he is searching for what he needs. Without love, he is nothing.

Paulo Coelho (Manual of the Warrior of Light)

2 comments

  1. Hey daz,

    I loved the party, thought it went flawlessly! Had a great time for once man, didnt know it would or cud be so much fun!!

    well, another batch our junior, know what that means??? The next welcome party and WE WILL BE 4TH YEARS!!!!!!!!! yeaaaaaaaaaaaah!!! I cant wait man….to graduate!!!!

    We’re getting old….woooohooooo!!

    Love and hugs
    Hysh

  2. hey daz

    party ta babaal bhayeko thiyo ni. I think this is the best fresher party till now. I liked the dancing part and I will not forget that bhai who was dancing with you. The party was crazy. We have to make the next year’s party jhan babaaal. Daz ni dance garnu parcha aba stage ma hai

    Jaz

Leave a Reply

