She is The Story

KKB

KRISHNA KUMARI BHATTARAI

Meet Krishna Kumari Bhattarai, age thirty-six, self-employed and a mother of three. At home, live her children and mother. Her husband passed away when she was twenty-seven and ever since she has been the sole breadwinner of the family. Earlier she used to grow potatoes and paddy in her fields but now she has moved on to vegetable farming. She grows cucumber and tomatoes in this field of hers. She doesn’t own the land but has been growing it on a 18 ropani land she has taken on lease. The LCCI ( Leknath Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Kaski) has helped her form the tunnel of plastic in her field, which has been a moneysaver as it has reduced the usage of “Bisadi” pesticides. Her saving amounts to Rs 20,000 thousand per month! Mind you, the lady is a farmer .

One thing that really touched me was she told us: हिम्मत गरे जे पनि गर्न सकिन्छ ।
( If you have the courage then anything is possible).

That is what I understand as women empowerment. And She is The Woman Of Substance. A very simple story but makes two points. Nepal needs the commercialization of agriculture to enhance the livehoods of its people as Kathmandu is NOT NEPAL and women empowerment is NOT symbolized by a SHORT HAIRED WOMAN!

Krishna Kumari Bhattarai

NAMASTE!

KKB

Talking to us

KKB

My Cucumber! ( handing it to Suman, I wanted to take a pic of her plucking the cucumber but the camera gave me “dhoka” so this is all I got )

cucumber

Her Cucumber, my hand, She, Suman and Bikash

cucumber!

Hmm..isn’t this Cucumber? that’s found in my Salad. काँक्रो भन्छन् क्यार नेपालीमा ! 🙂

11 comments

  1. Oh Over Janne! If only you had something called ‘SENSE OF HUMOUR”!! Nepali ta ho tapain?? joke gareko pani bujhnu hunna ki kaso? ma yesai kina smiley face 🙂 tyahan rakhthen??

    And James Ji, thanks for likin the piggy post, not all get the divya darshan of such fortunate pigs kya 😉 , khoi kura bujheko ? Btr luck next time !!

  2. Wish you had written more about this inspiring lady, the story of her life, her struggle from her own perspective: being a single woman (bidushi) and doing what she has been doing for years, how see looks back at her life etc. That would make a realy good story to read. Malai ta tya gayera unaha lai bhetau jasto lagyo to interview her though I feel many a time girls can talk to women more easily and extract the better story. Having said that, I don’t underestimate myself in interviewing women. But then not all women are Helambu muntira ki Maya!

  3. well Mr Wagle thank you for your suggestions. I regret not having that “journalistic” kind of talk with her too but I have never heard of single women being called , bidushi?? I think Bidushi only means an Intelligent woman. The “biduwa” word isn’t used these days so they are called “Ekal Mahila”. Ani tapainlai uta jana kasle rokeko chara? Bag boknus and lagnos, that is Lekhnath Municipality Kaski, ( there’s a statue of Lekhnath the Poet on its entrance, the place comes before reaching Pokhara.) Women do tend to talk more freely with another girl or woman I agree. Oh yah, your Great Helambu Ki Maya reporting, no need to underestimate yourself for sure!! Maybe if I had met some Prem in the city of 7 lakes ( Leknath Municipality as the ppl promote it that way) , then I would have been able to come up with something like that too! LOL I guess everyone would be something like Your Maya if you began the conversation in typical conductor style ( sorry u’ve explained that’s the way ppl converse in villages!)going ” Yo Gaun ka keti haru kati ramra!” . Well I don’t know how to start guffing that way so for now only such halka-fulka writings only hai. I will keep your suggestions in mind nevertheless for next time 🙂

    N for ( Keshavuko and Reality Bites) well I don’t want to discuss “the extent of guff or fact” of my photo phobia here. I have a lot of pics of myself in one of the social networking sites, that makes for the internet thing. Some rare occassions I don’t mind and don’t show “nakhara” while taking pics for instance I did not in our 2006 n my early 2007 trip to Pokhara, and not in Pataya nor Japan ( thanks to a friend who would convince me to be photographed as its a memory now). The Magazine was a HUGE mistake. Ask the photographer what bit of Nakhara I showed while taking the pic too. But that’s about it. I can’t give clarifications to everything here, because there’ a limit to what extent I want to be known in the blog . Aba eutai Funda 6, vaneko kura patyaye patyaunu natra malai baal ho. As you don’t know me as a person that’s the only option.

    And good that I look like a Thulo Manche in one pic 🙂 sometimes I get quite irritated of hearing ” Yo phuchhi” pani lekhche comments from this and that when my belief is m not a phucchi! And Dear Reality Bites there is no mystery or any attempt at being secretive here. But if that’s the way you perceive, nothing I can do. Ma ra anything to do with mystery are opposites!

    N Rajji good to know your home is Gorkha. Such a beautiful place above the clouds! I wish I had known that earlier, everyone kept asking me which relative of mine is in Gorkha this tat when I don’t have any there. I could have answered but I know someone who is from Gorkha other than Baburam Bhattarai 🙂 Will blog more when I got time hai.

  4. Inspirational read!!! Maybe we should be doing something on our own rather than blaming politics and leaving the country ( I am also equally guilty on this charge).

  5. Dear Zade 🙂
    ………I am agree with you ……..but changing the color of photographs only in face like blogger Say Na something ……that style of secret has no meaning…..Just I mean that way……… If u really interested to add photographs that is great !! Only face part has been missing or changing has no message afterall….this style seems unnatural too……. ( Just my personal view only, not needed your comment on this too )
    thanks.

  6. Wonderful take-off you are planning it seems . See, everything seems messed up .and now , very soon or already you might have joined the hordes of people on selling these stuffs to the outseide world. Collect all the catch- phrases or at times , appear critical to those who do so or anything sort of – then make a larger than life personality of yourself . these days it really sucks when people make unnecessary fuss solely to advance in their career . If i were in charge of life on planet earth . i for sure would have rejected your right to life . those ppl , who are your commodities , have enough guts to live without your sort of blogging or reporting .Leave them alone .

    Do not ever profess that you are samrter than any other stupid crap therer out in ktm or anything ! it’s utterly stupid . please why don’t you turn up to talking lifestyle stuffs or how-many-t-shirts-you-bought-where sort of stuff . That’s your stuff .. why pain urself by seeing poor faces and doing weird stuffs on them to advance urself . I am really offended and found it utterly nonsense . What sort of illusions do ktm youths carve out for themselves is an enigma !

  7. Thanks for the comment Miss/Mr (?) Lamo( interesting name there). Let me begin with an admission, initially I wasn’t able to understand what you wrote there! ( Sometimes the extra smart ones as you condemn me of portraying myself fail too!) Ah..so I join hordes of ppl? I like that .I finally belong Somewhere !

    Collect all the catch- phrases or at times , appear critical to those who do so or anything sort of – then make a larger than life personality of yourself .

    Oh that must be the Om Shanti Om Effect 🙂 , btw I was wondering who I have criticized in this entry… , are you a short haired Woman Activist or something? Oops sorry that criticism comes from my work experience in the “Women rights” field for a while..ooh but I forgot How Dare I Give My Views In MY BLOG??

    these days it really sucks when people make unnecessary fuss solely to advance in their career .

    My career. Well I will be glad if this BLOG does anything to MY CAREER. ( big terms by big folks aka Laaaaaaaaamo manche there) ali pachena!

    <strong.If i were in charge of life on planet earth . i for sure would have rejected your right to life .

    The boldest lines I have received in comments so far. A round of appalause to you! Okay my YAMARAJ ( GOD OF DEATH) let me see the power of your curse, m going to bed after a while and it will surely be YOUR THING if I keep sleeping for ever! Ohhhh my right to life will be rejected..how saaddd 😦 should I write my last words here?? Such anger, such hatred towards me!Wow! I think no one in these more than two decades of my existence has ever expressed such STRONG emotions towards me!! You’re the first, congrats!!

    those ppl , who are your commodities , have enough guts to live without your sort of blogging or reporting

    Well, that’s BREAKING NEWS! I didn’t know that, I was thinking the earth went around the sun because I blogged!! Bafre, katro misconception hai! mero ta Gyan chakchu nai khulyo!! Dhanya pravu tapainko comment!

    N I profess I am smarter than anyone else??? Thanks I didn’t know that either, I feel more confident now 🙂 You Rock yaar, seriously!lol

    it’s utterly stupid . please why don’t you turn up to talking lifestyle stuffs or how-many-t-shirts-you-bought-where sort of stuff . That’s your stuff .. why pain urself by seeing poor faces and doing weird stuffs on them to advance urself .

    Thanks for your suggestions. So you would like to know how many tshirts I bought? That’s great! And My Yamaraj I guess you better stick to YOUR hallucinations of being able to reject or accept ppl’s right to life rather than preaching me what I should and should not put in this blog. Remember THIS IS MY BLOG, MY RANT, MY SPACE?? ring a bell?? I put up entries of my t-shirts, or any other crap that’s my problem, not yours. And a question to you: Do I send you emails to you to read this blog? Do I ask you to comment here? NO.So a solution to your problem would be don’t visit sites that ruin your mood! Simple as that.

    What sort of llusions do ktm youths carve out for themselves is an enigma !

    Well, that secret is something you can’t grasp for now!

    ( I was suggested not to give a damn to your comment but it made me feel I am growing as a blogger myself.Thank you for that)

  8. again it is wondered if any reply is required here . I will no longer comment anything . say – u have outwitted this lamo .. ( interesting ,it is? – u know this cud have been more interesting !Is proof required ? )

    But let’s put it : you are not what you want to be as you are ! double sort Of ? realise the crisis .
    no more visits to this place !As if i need reasons to believe what the gal says she says ! who is u to mould my beliefs ?Do you think I will ask thus ? pathetic ! ok , let’s drop it . u rock yarrr ! you are the another soul-saviour this wretched nation was exactly looking for ! guys , cow-dung is useful , rt? but it’s … .Fill in the blanks and eat it !
    Now do not expect any sort of further discussion!

Leave a Reply

