Murakami on Water & Memories

I recently finished reading Haruki Murakami’s ‘After Dark’.  And I would like to share some excerpts from the book , Murakami’s take on water and memories to be more specific. The reason I liked the following excerpt on water is because it makes sense to me. I have blogged about similar sentiments in this entry as well. Water helps dilute my emotions. Read what water is, to a character in Murakami’s book.

“Wanna walk a little?” Mari says.
“Sure,let’s walk. Walking is good for you.Walk slowly; drink lots of water.”
“What’s that supposed to mean?”
“It’s my motto for life. ‘Walk slowly; drink lots of water.’ “

Murakami seems to know exactly what memories are.Take a read.

….. Memory is so crazy! It’s like we’ve got these drawers crammed with tons of useless stuff. Meanwhile, all the really important things we just keep forgetting, one after the other.”

Korogi stands there holding the remote control.

“You know what I think?” she says. “That people’s memories are maybe the fuel they burn to stay alive.Whether those memories have any actual importance or not, it doesn’t matter as far as the maintenance of life is concerned. They’re all just fuel. Advertising fillers in the newspaper, philosophy books, dirty pictures in a magazine, a bundle of ten-thousand-yen bills: when you feed’ em to the fire, they’re all just paper. The fire isn’t thinking, ‘Oh, this is Kant,’ or ‘Oh, this is the Yomiuri evening edition,’ or ‘Nice tits,’ while it burns. To the fire, they’re nothing but scraps of paper. It’s the exact same thing. Important memories, not-so-important memories, totally useless memories: there’s no distinction—they’re all just fuel.”

Korogi nods to herself. Then she goes on: “You know, I think if I didn’t have that fuel, if I didn’t have these memory drawers inside me, I would’ve snapped a long time ago. I would’ve curled up in a ditch somewhere and died. It’s because I can pull the memories out of the drawers when I have to—the important ones and the useless ones—that I can go on living this nightmare of a life. I might think I can’t take it any more, that I can’t go on any more, but one way or another I get past that.”

8 comments

  1. I have read almost everything written by him. The references he takes is always fascinating and the kind of world he weaves in his stories and novels so unreal and yet so natural that I feel like I am living in dream world and what is real is in dreams. If you have not read yet, I would recommend reading Norwegian woods, Kafka on the shore, and The wind up bird chronicles by him. And also his short stories collections, they are always nice. Read After quake, The elephant vanishes et al. I am sure you will love em.

  2. Hey! You seem to have been lost from the blogdom world. We need you back and we need you to be writing like crazy. You can’t keep us waiting for so long. It’s always Murakami on water and memories. Come out of your hiding and enlighten us with your take on the world around you.

  3. Where’s zade? What happened to her? Is she all right? If she’s having a nice time, how come she’s stopped writing?

    Your readers want an explanation. Give us one. Whr r uuuuu??

Leave a Reply

