this dashain

I would like to share a good ‘Dashain’ memory but I don’t have any. For as long as I remember I have dreaded Dashain just the Baliko boka dreads Asthami. I have never been keen on Dashain ko luga, not even when I was a kid nor enthusiastic about meeting relatives. In fact it is the relative visit aspect which I’ve always found dreadful. Masu masu everythere does not account for a feasting  experience for a vegetarian either. Worse still is being offered Dahi chuira as ‘uni masu khannan’.

Nonetheless it’s been 2 years since I last experienced my Dashain dread. I must admit that have forgotten the sting of Dashain. And who knows,  my fear filled experience of Dashain might just be over. It certainly helps if you find a partner who is as interested in doing byabahar as you are 😉  . Therefore, I plan to experience the festival differently this year. I would like to do a bit of digging around, understand the nuances of the festival, the meanings of symbols, cultural practices, history and most importantly try to understand the multiple meanings of the festival to different people(including me) among other things. In the process of doing so I would like to avoid generic condemnations of the festival on grounds of ‘tadak/bhadak’ and other such superficial mundane and ill thought arguments. What I mean is I would rather probe into why ‘tadak/bhadak’ (showing off) for one is not so for another or why ‘opinion makers’ here live under the illusion that their interpretation of an act/a festival/a choice people make is superior to the interpretation of the people making such choices? I know that many of these questions will remain unanswered but my point is to ask questions. Meanwhile I’ll be photographing whatever looks like Dashain to me. Here are a few Ghatasthapana pics I took….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy Dashain! 

Other posts on Dashain : 

1. Dashain 2011

2. Dashain 2006

4 comments

  1. I searched on whole of internet trying to figure out why we celebrate Dashain. Supposedly, Indians and Nepalese celebrate the same festival for different reasons. While in Nepal, Dashain is always associated with Goddess Durga demolishing demons. In India, it is celebrated as Ram’s victory over Ravan. I want to know about the Nepalese side story.

  2. Even if I don’t like the deusi bhailo part of dasain I will surely miss the lazy kaju kismiss times at home. Also ma ki haat ka khana precisely aloo ko achar, tamatar ko achar ani saag

Leave a Reply

